Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Like Us on Facebook Like Us on Facebook

Like Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter @SOAPHQ

The primary purpose of the SOAP Endowment Fund (formerly OAPEF) is to create funding for educational endeavors in obstetric anesthesia.

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!

Patient Safety
Patient Safety Alert -
Look-alike Medications
What's New
SOAP Spring, 2016-17 Newsletter SOAP Newsletter
Winter, 2017-18

2018 Annual Meeting
Abstract Submissions

Consensus Statement on
VTE Management

Response to the
FDA Med Watch

The Council on Patient Safety in Women’s Health Care Releases Maternal Venous Thromboembolism Bundle


Members Only
Forgot My Password

Member Benefits
Quick Links


 Anesthesia & Analgesia

Visit the Lifeline Campaign

Lifeline to Modern Medicine


Research in Education Award

The Research in Education Award was established in 2001 by the SOAP Board of Directors and first given at the May 2002 Annual Meeting in Hilton Head, South Carolina.

The criteria are:

  • Abstracts may focus on the education of medical students, residents, patients, obstetric care providers, or the community.
  • All health care providers (anesthesiologists, fellows, residents, obstetricians, nurses, etc) are eligible as long as they are a member of SOAP or sponsored by a SOAP member.
  • A $500 cash award is provided.

Research Award Recipients

2017 Victoria Danahkl, M.D.
2016 Heather C. Nixon, M.D.
2015 Mrinalini Balki, M.B.B.S., M.D. and Katherine G. Lim, M.D. (tie)
2014 Kelly G. Elterman, M.D.
2013 Clemens M. Ortner, M.D.
2012 Raymond Glassenberg, M.D.
2011 Michelle A. Walters, M.B.B.S.
2010 Subrata Chakravarty, M.D., M.B.B.S. 
2009 Manuel Vallejo, M.D.
2008 Paloma Toledo M.D.
2007 Steven Lipman, M.D.
2006 Paul Preston, M.D.
2005 Moeen Panni, M.D.
2004 M.T. Sproviero, M.D.
2003 Raymond Glassenberg, M.D.
2002 David Birnbach, M.D.; Raymond Glassenberg, M.D.