Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Like Us on Facebook Like Us on Facebook

Like Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter @SOAPHQ

The primary purpose of the SOAP Endowment Fund (formerly OAPEF) is to create funding for educational endeavors in obstetric anesthesia.

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!

Patient Safety
Patient Safety Alert -
Look-alike Medications
What's New
SOAP Spring, 2016-17 Newsletter SOAP Newsletter
Winter, 2017-18

2018 Annual Meeting
Abstract Submissions

Consensus Statement on
VTE Management

Response to the
FDA Med Watch

The Council on Patient Safety in Women’s Health Care Releases Maternal Venous Thromboembolism Bundle


Members Only
Forgot My Password

Member Benefits
Quick Links


 Anesthesia & Analgesia

Visit the Lifeline Campaign

Lifeline to Modern Medicine


Past Presidents

2016-2017 John T. Sullivan, M.D., M.B.A..
2015-2016 Manuel C. Vallejo, DM.D., M.D.
2014-2015 Robert R. Gaiser, M.D.
2013-2014 Barbara M. Scavone, M.D.
2012-2013 McCallum R. Hoyt, M.D., M.B.A.
2011-2012 Maya S. Suresh, M.D.
2010-2011 Robert D'Angelo, M.D.
2009-2010 Lawrence C. Tsen, M.D.
2008-2009 Linda S. Polley, M.D.
2007-2008 Gurinder M.S. Vasdev, M.D.
2006-2007 David J. Wlody, M.D.
2005-2006 William R. Camann, M.D.
2004-2005 M. Joanne Douglas, M.D., F.R.C.P.
2003-2004 Richard N. Wissler, M.D.
2002-2003 Joy L. Hawkins, M.D.
2001-2002 Valerie A. Arkoosh, M.D.
2000-2001 Alan C. Santos, M.D., M.P.H.
1999-2000 David H. Chestnut, M.D.
1998-1999 David J. Birnbach, M.D.
1997-1998 Gerard M. Bassell, M.D.
1996-1997 Sheila E. Cohen, M.B., Ch.B.
1995-1996 Mieczyslaw (Mike) Finster, M.D.
1994-1995 Barbara Leighton, M.D.
1993-1994 Richard Rottman, M.D.
1992-1993 Lloyd F. Redick, M.D.
1991-1992 Sanjay Datta, M.D.
1990-1991 Jay S. DeVore, M.D.
1989-1990 Virginia Williams, M.D.
1988-1989 Samuel C. Hughes, M.D.
1987-1988 Desmond Writer, M.B., Ch.B.
1986-1987 Richard Clark, M.D.
1985-1986 John B. Craft, Jr., M.D.
1984-1985 Robert Hodgkinson, M.D.
1983-1984 Graham McMorland, M.B., Ch.B.
1982-1983 Thomas H. Joyce, III, M.D.
1981-1982 Michael H. Plumer, M.D.
1980-1981 Gerard W. Ostheimer, M.D.
1979-1980 Francis (Frank) M. James, III, M.D.
1978-1979 John C. Morrison, M.D.
1977-1978 David Ralston, M.D.
1976-1977 Charles P. Gibbs, M.D.
1975-1976 Brett Gutsche, M.D.
1974-1975 Sol M. Shnider, M.D.
1973-1974 Preston V. Dilts, Jr., M.D.
1972-1973 Alice Blanche Basford, M.D.
1971-1972 James A. Evans, M.D.
1970-1971 Bradley E. Smith, M.D.
1969-1970 Robert F. Hustead, M.D.