//Gertie Marx Research Competition – Award Winners
Gertie Marx Research Competition – Award Winners2019-07-18T16:24:07-05:00

Gertie Marx Research Competition – Award Winners

2019 Competition Results

1st Place Natasha Clunies-Ross, M.B.,B.S., B.Sc., FRCA, BC Women’s Hospital, University of British Columbia
The effect of carbetocin dose on transmural dispersion of myocardial repolarization in healthy parturients scheduled for elective cesarean delivery under spinal anesthesia – A prospective, randomized clinical trial
2nd Place Fatima Khatoon, M.B.,B.S., Hamad Medical Corporation, Doha – Qatar
Relative potency of noradrenaline vs. phenylephrine infusions in the prevention of hypotension after spinal anaesthesia for caesarean delivery
3rd Place Danny Mireault, M.D., Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital, University of Montreal
Uterine Exteriorisation Versus in Situ Repair for Elective Cesarean Delivery Using a Phenylephrine Infusion; a Randomized Controlled Trial


  • Rovnat Babazade, M.D.
  • Melissa E. Bauer, D.O.
  • Scott Segal, M.D., M.S.
  • Richard M. Smiley, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Paloma Toledo, M.D., M.P.H.

2018 Competition Results

1st Place Britany L. Raymond, M.D., B.S., Vanderbilt University Medical Center
A Randomized Controlled Trial to Reduce Unused Opioids after Cesarean Delivery
2nd Place Jason G. Hirsch, M.D., UCLA
Comparison of Bupivacaine-induced Cardiotoxicity and Intralipid Rescue in Non-Pregnant and Late Pregnant Rats
3rd Place Rochelle Molitor, M.D., Mayo Clinic
Intrathecal morphine compared to intrathecal hydromorphone for post-cesarean analgesia: a double-blind prospective randomized controlled trial


  • Robert D’Angelo, M.D.
  • Joy L. Hawkins, M.D.
  • Jill M. Mhyre, M.D.
  • Felicity Plaat, M.D.
  • Manuel C. Vallejo, Jr., M.D., D.M.D.
  • Carolyn Weiniger, M.B., Ch.B

2017 Competition Results

1st Place Malavika Prabhu, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital
A Shared Decision-Making Intervention for Opioid Prescribing After Cesarean Delivery: a Single-Arm Trial
2nd Place Justin R Lappen, M.D., MetroHealth Medical Center
Pulse Pressure and the Risk of Post-Epidural Fetal Heart Rate (FHR) Abnormalities: A Randomized Controlled Trial
3rd Place Erin J Ciampa, M.D., Ph.D., Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
The Protein Content of Cerebrospinal Fluid is Altered in Preeclampsia


  • Ruth Landau, M.D.
  • Robert Dyer, FCA (SA), Ph.D.
  • Yehuda Ginosar, B.Sc., M.B.,B.S.
  • Ashraf Habib, M.B.,B.Ch., M.Sc., M.S.N., FRCA
  • Michael Froelich, M.D., M.S.

2016 Competition Results

1st Place Katie J Gray, M.D., Ph.D., Brigham & Women’s Hospital
Elevated Angiogenic Factors Across Gestation In Women With Postpartum Hemorrhage
2nd Place Linda Street, M.D., Wake Forest School of Medicine
Gestational and Postpartum Sleep Apnea: Exhaled Nitric Oxide as a Biomarker in a Predictive Model
3rd Place Anthony Chau, B.Sc., M.D., FRCPC, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
A Prospective, Randomized Trial of Standard Epidural, Dural-Puncture Epidural, and Combined-Spinal Epidural Labor Analgesia Techniques on Maternal and Fetal Outcomes


  • Robert Gaiser, M.D.
  • May Pian-Smith, M.D., M.S.
  • Mark Rollins, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Barbara Scavone, M.D.
  • Carolyn Weiniger, M.B., Ch.B

2015 Competition Results

1st Place Chiraag Talati, M.B.B.S., BSc (Hons), FRCA, Mount Sinai Hospital, University of Toronto
Recovery Time of Oxytocin Induced Desensitization in Human Myometrium In-Vitro
2nd Place Benjamin G. Cobb, M.D., Stanford University
Active Warming Utilizing Forced Air and Intravenous Fluid Warming Combined Decreases Hypothermia and Shivering During Cesarean Delivery
3rd Place
Carlos M. Delgado, M.D., University of Washington
PIEB (Programmed Intermittent Epidural Bolus) Versus CEI (Continuous Epidural Infusion) for Labor Analgesia: Results of a Pilot Set-Up and Where to Go From There
3rd Place
Emily Sharpe, M.D., Wake Forest University
Modeling Recovery From Pain Following Non-Emergent Cesarean Delivery


  • Brenda Bucklin, M.D.
  • Daniel J. Cole, M.D.
  • Warwick Ngan Kee
  • McCallum R. Hoyt, M.D., M.B.A.
  • Barbara M. Scavone, M.D.

2014 Competition Results

1st Place Kathleen F. Brookfield, M.D., Stanford University
Pharmacokinetics and Placental Transfer of Magnesium Sulfate in Pregnant Women
2nd Place Kyra Bernstein, M.D., Columbia University
Calcium Activated Chloride Channels: Critical Mediators of Calcium Dynamics in Human Myometrial Cells
3rd Place Kelly G. Elterman, M.D., Harvard Univeristy
The Influence of a Night Float Call System on the Incidence of Inadvertent Dural Puncture in Obstetric Anesthesia: A Retrospective Impact Study


  • Ferne Braveman, M.D.
  • Brenda Bucklin, M.D.
  • Daniel J. Cole, M.D.
  • McCallum R. Hoyt, M.D., M.B.A.
  • Barbara M. Scavone, M.D.

2013 Competition Results

1st Place Hans P. Sviggum, M.D. Brigham and Women’s Hospital
A Randomized Controlled Study Assessing Bupivacaine Temperature on Epidural Labor Analgesia
2nd Place Mubeen Khan, M.D. University of Toronto
Carbetocin at Elective Cesarean Delivery: A Randomized Controlled Trial to Determine the Effective Dose, Part 3-Final
3rd Place Mohammed A. Abdel Rahim, M.D., B.Med.Sc. University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Analysis of Dose Response of Intravenous Anesthetic for Fetal Procedures

2012 Competition Results

1st Place Naida Cole, M.D. Mount Sinai Hospital
Carbetocin vs. oxytocin: In-vitro human myometrial contractions after oxytocin pre-treatment
2nd Place Joel Shapiro, M.D. Hadassah Hebrew University Medical Center
Non-invasive placental and fetal organ hemodynamic monitoring using BOLD fMRI in pregnant mice: comparing the effects of maternal ephedrine and phenylephrine administration
3rd Place Pervez Sultan, M.D. University College London Hospital
Endogenous pain inhibition does not appear to be the mechanism responsible for pregnancy-induced analgesia


  • David Bogod, MBBS, FRCA, LLM
  • Joy Hawkins, M.D.
  • Maya Suresh, M.D.
  • Robert D’Angelo, M.D.
  • Manuel Vallejo, Jr., M.D., D.M.D.
  • Philip Hess, M.D.

2011 Competition Results

1st Place Clemens M. Ortner, M.D. DESA University of Washington
Pre-operative scar hyperalgesia in women undergoing repeat cesarean section
2nd Place Meike A. Soens, M.D. Brigham and Women’s Hospital
No pain, no gain- spinal capsaicin and bupivacaine for prolonged sensory selective block in rats puncture
3rd Place Feyce Peralta, M.D. Northwestern University
Obese parturients and the incidence of postdural puncture headache after unintentional dural puncture


  • Roshan Fernando, M.B., Ch. B.
  • McCallum Hoyt, M.D., M.B.A.
  • Ruth Landau, M.D.
  • Kiki Palacios, M.D.
  • Lawrence C. Tsen, M.D.
  • Cynthia Wong, M.D.

2010 Competition Results

1st Place Neeti Sadana, M.D. Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Traditional vs. new transfusion protocol for obstetric hemorrhage.  Which is better?
2nd Place Vanessa Olbrecht, M.D. Massachusetts General Hospital
The epidemiology of subarachnoid hemorrhage in pregnancy
3rd Place Adrienne Kung, M.D. Beth Israel Deconess Medical Center
The prevention vs. treatment of intrathecal opiod Induced pruritis with ondansetron


  • Yakov Beilin, M.D.
  • Robert McKay, M.D.
  • Linda S. Polley, M.D.
  • Brenda Bucklin, M.D.
  • David J. Wlody, M.D.
  • Richard N. Wissler, M.D., Ph.D.