Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Like Us on Facebook Like Us on Facebook

Like Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter @SOAPHQ

The primary purpose of the SOAP Endowment Fund (formerly OAPEF) is to create funding for educational endeavors in obstetric anesthesia.

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!

Patient Safety
Patient Safety Alert -
Look-alike Medications
What's New
SOAP Spring, 2016-17 Newsletter SOAP Newsletter
Winter, 2017-18

2018 Annual Meeting
Abstract Submissions

Consensus Statement on
VTE Management

Response to the
FDA Med Watch

The Council on Patient Safety in Women’s Health Care Releases Maternal Venous Thromboembolism Bundle


Members Only
Forgot My Password

Member Benefits
Quick Links


 Anesthesia & Analgesia

Visit the Lifeline Campaign

Lifeline to Modern Medicine


Frederick P. Zuspan Award

The Frederick P. Zuspan Award has been given since 1997. Its purpose is to promote collaborative research and scholarship between Obstetricians and Anesthesiologists. Abstracts may qualify for this award in addition to other awards. When authors indicate that their abstract is eligible for this award, they need to indicate which authors are obstetricians and which are anesthesiologists. It is not appropriate to add an obstetrician’s name to an abstract in order to qualify.

Eligibility criteria for the Zuspan award is as follows: the award is for the best original research - not case reports, not reviews of the literature, and not meta-analyses.  It is for work done by at least one anesthesiologist and at least one obstetrician working together on an original research project that results in an abstract. The judging is done by a group of SOAP members selected by the Annual Meeting Program Committee and approved by the SOAP Board of Directors.

The award is $500, given by SOAP annually. This award is to be shared by the Obstetrician and the Anesthesiologist.

Frederick P. Zuspan Award Recipients

2017 Jeremy Juang, M.D., Ph.D.
2016 Brendan Carvalho, M.B., B.Ch., FRCA, M.D.C.H.
2015 Chiraag Talati, M.B.B.S., B.S.c. (Hons), FRCA
2014 Mrinalini Balki, M.D.
2013 Emmanuel K. Srofenyoh, M.D., FWACS
2012 Suresh Anandakrishnan, M.D.
2011 Elena Reitman, M.D.
2010 Mrinalini Balki, M.D.
2009 Mrinalini Balki, M.D.
2008 Adrienne Stewart, M.B., B. S.
2007 Ronald B. George, M.D.
2006 Geraldine O’Sullivan, M.D.
2005 Mughina Siddiqui, M.D.
2004 Errol R. Norwitz, M.D.
2003 Anthony G. Maratea, M.D.
2002 Laura M. Goetzi, M.D.
2001 Patrick S. Ramsey, M.D.
2000 Yasser Y. El-Sayed, M.D.
1999 Kenneth Leveno, M.D.
1998 A.H. Shennan, M.D.
1997 Yasser Y. El-Sayed, M.D.