Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Like Us on Facebook Like Us on Facebook

Like Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter @SOAPHQ

The primary purpose of the SOAP Endowment Fund (formerly OAPEF) is to create funding for educational endeavors in obstetric anesthesia.

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!

Patient Safety
Patient Safety Alert -
Look-alike Medications
What's New
SOAP Spring, 2016-17 Newsletter SOAP Newsletter
Winter, 2017-18

2018 Annual Meeting
Abstract Submissions

Consensus Statement on
VTE Management

Response to the
FDA Med Watch

The Council on Patient Safety in Women’s Health Care Releases Maternal Venous Thromboembolism Bundle


Members Only
Forgot My Password

Member Benefits
Quick Links


 Anesthesia & Analgesia

Visit the Lifeline Campaign

Lifeline to Modern Medicine


Distinguished Service Award

The Board of Directors selects the recipient of the SOAP Distinguished Service Award based on the following criteria:

The recipient has been a long-standing society member. The recipient made numerous contributions to the Society (i.e., served on the Board of Directors, presented at Annual Meetings, served on Society committees) and has provided exceptional service to the specialty of obstetric anesthesia. In addition the SOAP Board of Directors recognizes the recipient as one who is viewed by the community at large as an exemplary ambassador of obstetric anesthesia.

Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2017          Robert D'Angelo, M.D.  
2016          Joy L. Hawkins, M.D.  
2015 William Camann, M.D.
2014 Alan C. Santos, M.D., M.P.H.
2013 Alex F. Pue, M.D.
2012 Gerard M. Bassell, M.D.
2011 Joanne Douglas, M.D.
2010 Mark A. Rosen, M.D.
2009 Sanjay Datta, M.B.
2008 Samuel Hughes, M.D. - posthumous
2007 Frank James, M.D.
2006 Felicity Reynolds, M.D.
2005 Frederick Zuspan, M.D.
2004 Sheila E. Cohen, MB, ChB
2003 Brett B. Gutsche, M.D.
2002 Bradley E. Smith, M.D.
  Robert F. Hustead, M.D.
  James A. Evans, M.D.
  James O. Elam, M.D.
  Richard B. Clark, M.D.
  Robert O. Bauer, M.D.
2001 Mieczyslaw Finster, M.D.
2000 Gertie F. Marx, M.D.